Society Representation

The Society is represented on a variety of other trustee bodies, Societies, Working Groups, Management Groups, Steering Groups, and so on in the broader heritage sector.

Some of this representation is pursued through active membership sought by the Society of other bodies, but in many cases the Society has been invited to participate. The presence of a Fellow on the Board of the National Museums Scotland is statutory. From time to time, bodies may be either added to, or deleted from, this list with the agreement of Council. The period of appointment, election or subscription to these various bodies is variable, and is detailed below.

Name of Organisation Current Representative Membership Type Renewal or Length of Service Report to Council
National Museums Scotland (NMS) Trustees Chris Fletcher Statutory March 2017 none
OPiT CEO’s  Forum Director Invited Since 2017 Director’s Report
Built Environment Forum Scotland (BEFS) Director Subscription Since 2002 Director’s Report
BEFS Historic Environment Working Group (HEWG) Director Attendee Since 2008 Director’s Report
Scottish Strategic Archaeology Committee (SSAC) ScARF Project Manager Invited Since 2018 Director’s Report
The Laws Advisory Group Dr Fraser Hunter Invited Since 2008 Minutes provided to Society
National Committee on the Carved Stones of Scotland (NCCSS) Director Invited Since 1993 Director’s Report, Minutes provided to Society
Arts and Humanities Research Council (AHRC) Subject Association Director Invited Since 2005 Director’s Report
Sir Henry Wade’s Pilmuir Trust Mr Robert Heath Invited Since 1955? Minutes provided to Society
Antonine Wall Management Plan Working Group Director Invited Since 2000 Director’s Report
The Archaeology Forum (UK forum) Director Invited Since ? Director’s Report
Scottish Parliament Cross Party Group on Architecture and the Built Environment Director Subscription annual subscription Director’s Report
Archaeology Data Service (ADS) Management Committee Managing Editor Invited Since ? Director’s Report, Minutes provided to Society
Archaeology Scotland Director Subscription Annual subscription no
British and Irish Archaeological Bibliography (BIAB) Online – Advisory Committee Managing Editor Invited Since 1999? Director’s Report, Minutes provided to Society
The Dalrymple Donaldson Fund Professor Julian Luxford; Professor David Walker; Andrew Stevenson Invited Since 13 May 1937 Minutes provided to Society
Mouswald Trust Dr Fraser Hunter Invited Since 1962? tbc
British Archaeological Awards Director Invited Since 1984 Minutes provided to the Society


Help us to do more

Help us: champion research; stimulate discussion; enhance public understanding; and share our extraordinary heritage. Donate directly to the Society now.