Grants & Awards

The Society supports high-quality research and publication relating to Scotland’s past by making several grants and awards each year.

Grants are available on a competitive basis, to help cover the costs of archaeological and historical research relating to Scotland. Some of the projects which have received grant funding from the Society are listed here on the Society website.

The closing date for grant funding applications is 30 November each year.

Grants are generally made on the recommendation of the Grants and Awards Committee and the approval of the Society’s Council.  More information on the dissemination of individual grants is available below.  The main funding streams are through Grants and the Young and Student Fellows Grants. Specific named awards with individual remits are also available.  Council warmly welcomes applications for Grants and other Awards as specified below.

For grants relating to “the judicious restoration and repair of buildings of historical and antiquarian interest in Scotland, England, France, Spain, Italy, Germany and Greece but especially in Scotland” please apply to the The Dalrymple Donaldson Fund.



Grants are available to anyone wishing to undertake high quality research relating to Scotland’s past


Young and Student Fellow Grants

Supporting young or student Fellows of the Society specifically


Dr Euan MacKie Legacy Fund

To provide for scientific analyses relating to Neolithic or Iron Age Scotland


Angus Graham Grant

To assist with the preparation of additional data and the presentation of material for publication by the Society


Sir George MacDonald Grant

To support research that might throw light upon the Roman occupation of Scotland


Gunning Jubilee Gift

Grant to “enable experts to visit other museums, collections, or materials of archaeological science at home or abroad”


Murray Prize for History

Awarded biennially for the best paper on the history of Scotland in the medieval to early modern periods


Chalmers-Jervise Prize

Awarded biennially for the best paper on any subject in the prehistory or archaeology of Scotland before AD 1100


R B K Stevenson Award

Offered annually in recognition of a paper that best reflects R B K Stevenson’s high standards in scholarship


Regional Fund Buchan Lecture

The fund aims to support lectures in those parts of Scotland that are not currently served by the Society’s meetings


Dorothy Marshall Medal

Awarded every three years to an individual who, in a voluntary capacity, has made an outstanding contribution to Scottish archaeological or related work

Help us to do more

Help us: champion research; stimulate discussion; enhance public understanding; and share our extraordinary heritage. Donate directly to the Society now.