Grants & Awards

Dorothy Marshall Medal

Awarded every three years to an individual who, in a voluntary capacity, has made an outstanding contribution to Scottish archaeological or related work

This prestigious silver medal commemorates Miss Dorothy Marshall who in her own long lifetime contributed so much to Scottish archaeology and especially in the area of her beloved Island of Bute and marks the Society’s gratitude for the bequest to the Society following her death in 1992.


1995    Tam Ward – especially for fieldwork around Biggar
1998    Mr WF (Bill) Cormack – especially for his contribution in Dumfries & Galloway
2001    Miss Elizabeth B Rennie – especially for her Cowal fieldwork
2004    Major Patrick Cave-Browne – especially for his study of ancient technology and for educational work
2007    Mr Iain Keillar – especially for his contribution in Moray
2010    Mr Walter Elliot – especially for his contribution to the archaeology and history of his native Borders
2013    Ms Jean Comrie – especially for her outstanding contribution to archaeology in Scotland
2016    Miss Audrey Henshall – especially for her contribution to archaeology and textiles of Scotland and especially the chambered cairns of Scotland
2019    Miss Anne Speirs BEM – especially for her contribution to the history and archaeology of Bute, especially as voluntary curator at Bute Museum
2022    Mr Martin Wildgoose – especially for his contribution to archaeology in Skye and Wester Ross


Please contact with any queries regarding this award.  Council consider nominees for the award every three years, usually at their summer meeting and welcome nominations from Fellows and non-Fellows.  All nominations should be accompanied by a full name and contact details of the nominee, and the reason for their nomination in no more than 500 words emphasising the voluntary nature of their contribution, alongside a short curriculum vitae or biography of no more than 300 words.


The next award will be made at the Anniversary Meeting in 2025 and the final decision on nominees at the August Council meeting.  All nominations must be with the Society by midnight on 10th August 2025.

Application Form

There is no specific application form for the Medal but nominations from Fellows and non-Fellows are very welcome.  Nominations should include the full name and contact details of the nominee, the reason for their nomination bearing in mind the remit of the award (500 words maximum), especially the voluntary nature of the contribution made by the nominee, and a brief biography of the nominee of no more than 300 words.  An online nomination form is available.